Menu
Connexion Yabiladies Ramadan Radio Forum News
working in england
b
22 June 2006 11:00
Hello All

I'm a software engineer working with a French company in Paris, with a permanent contract and around 5 years experience left

Recently I've got an interesting job offer from a concurrent that have a development studio in uk

My problem is that I’ve no idea about work/life conditions there, and about the *normal* salary for a mid-level engineer, the nature of job contracts (equiv to CDI/CDD ...), the life cost compared to Paris...

All I know is that the city is about 200km far from London, and that to company is offering potential opportunities and extra incentives (that I should discover in the next interview)

I would highly appreciate any help, especially from people who had to deal with such experience

Regards
D
22 June 2006 17:34
I can tell you from my experience in London that the life standard over is much higher than Paris, and that wages are consequently substantial. It also depends on the area where you're planning to settle, there are some chic neighborhoods and some normal ones, one good thing about London is that no matther where you live you have access to almost anything (Shopping centers, restaurants, movie theatres...etc) just within the neighborhood so there's no need to plan long journey for little matters such as shopping and the like.
p
22 June 2006 18:03
Hi Bazz

I would think the wages in the UK are much higher than in Paris ,but i will urge you to push for more money in the interview if you can.

Cost of living will be higher than in Paris also transport but i think the quqlity of life is a lot better,good luck .
b
22 June 2006 18:15
Thanks for your answers