Menu
Connexion Yabiladies Ramadan Radio Forum News
Working in the UK
E
10 October 2008 11:31
Salam alikom everyone,

I am a French student and currently looking for a 6 week work placement in the UK starting in April 2009. We were told that with the economic crisis it would be really hard to find any placement, and my teacher added that for me it would be even harder because I am Moroccan. My nationality is French but of course I am also Moroccan and more precisly I look Moroccan. She told me that even if I was one of the best students of this year (I'm studying for a bachelor's degree) my looks and origin will probably prevail on anything else. I was hoping to find a work placement in London but I am really discouraged...
I would like to have your opinions on what I just said and maybe tell me about your experience, if you faced any kind of rascism etc.
I thought of finding a placement in a Moroccan company but the thing is I only speak darija, do you think it would still be ok?
a
10 October 2008 13:15
ptdrptdr ptdr Your post is really funny. Just remember you are Moroccan and also have French nationality not the other way around.
In the UK Moroccans are looked at as terrorists, they spit, hit, and insult us when ever they see us. We are not allowed into shops without policemen, in buses we stand all the time never sit, we don’t even walk on the pavement among the rest of British people. We only beg our daily food placement and you are talking about placement. It is a horrible place to be. I you have to come here make sure you change the colour of your hair and the tone of your accent definitely. Otherwise its your funeral.
Should you know of any job in Fransh; I would love to go and practice my Fresh.
tongue sticking out smileygrinning smiley
Adds adds jazz but never subtract music
E
10 October 2008 13:57