Menu
Connexion Yabiladies Ramadan Radio Forum News
Lalla manana
b
27 March 2008 16:14
Today I saw a little bit of a documentary on the moroccan channel about some people who 'worship' persons like a lalla manana or some guy called bouasalham? My question is why???. Aren't they muslims and don't they know that is shirk? This is on many places in morocco and I think it's terrible. Who made this people believe in these persons, to pray there or ask them for help. Is't just like black magic, that happens a lot in morocco. Don't these people have trust in Allah the Almighty?

What do you think?
M
27 March 2008 16:45
Lol! lalla manana grinning smiley

I am not an expert so can't really give a religious opinion on this phenomena but i'm not sure either you can qualify this rites as shirk.

These are usually "zawias" where Sufi people go to perform dhikr and pray God. They sometimes hold a tomb of the person who founded the place, these people are considered as saints by many muslims because during their lifetime, they were deeply pious people and thus have acquired a high level of spirituality (it's quite phylosophical but it you read a bit about sufism, you'll understand that there many levels to achieve before the "nirvana" grinning smiley). Some of these people happen to have healing powers so people visit them to get cured (this is shared by all religions and many doctors and scientists do believe in these powers although no one can explain the rational behind them) so, when these people die, they get buried in these zawias and generation after generation go to visit them and claim their baraka to obtain whaterver they are seeking from God.